• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Illegal fruit

I had something happen to me twice this week that I haven’t had happen to me before.

In this area there haven’t been too many street vendors on the main roads since the Olympics, something about beautifying the city and whatnot.  They’ve been popping up more and more lately, although they aren’t as commonly seen as in other parts of the city.  The other day my Mom and I were sampling some grapes I was about to buy when the guy started pedaling away as fast as he could before the chengguan could get him.  The chengguan are a certain kind of police that give street vendors a hard time since, technically, street sellers are illegal.

Then tonight we were walking back to the school after our Sunday team meal and I was poised and ready to buy some cherries when the guy started up his motor and drove off down the street as fast as he could.  I guess the chengguan were on the way again.

Leave a Reply

