• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

I’m on vacation

I’ll be spending the next week or so vacationing and relaxing in Guangxi Province with a couple girlfriends.  We’re looking forward to the beautiful scenery and just getting away for a bit.  My Chinese friend Mary teased me this week because I’ve been in China for three years and have never made the pilgrimage to Guilin.  (I finally got around to visiting the Summer Palace and the Forbidden City just this year.  I know – shame on me.)  This is a trip that’s been at the top of my list to take for a while, and it’s probably one of the places in China I’m most looking forward to seeing.  Guilin’s mountains are famous, so much so that they’re on the back of the 20RMB ($2.93) note.

Something that every tourist does: I'll be taking my own picture like this in the coming days!

Southern China has experienced an especially bad drought since the fall, but it just broke in the Guilin area when the Lijiang River flooded its banks on Tuesday after several days of torrential rains.  Right now the ferries and river activities are all suspended until the water levels go down, but we’re keeping our fingers crossed that we’ll be able to do some of that!  Beijing has spring, but it’s not quite as warm as Guilin should be – in the upper 60’s and 70’s – right before the rainy season starts in May/June.

We’ll fly to Guilin, then we’re pretty excited to take a day hike through the rice paddies and spend the night in a minority village.  The climate is great for growing rice, but arable land is limited so rice is grown in terraced rice paddies.  Here’s an incredible shot of an aerial view of the terraces:

We’ll spend the rest of our time in Yangshuo, which is where these famous mountain landscapes are:

See you when we get back, after May 3!

Leave a Reply

