• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Eggs, dye and prepubescent boys

Any time I engage in a task that involves solitary repetition, I have flashbacks to my childhood when my Mom would ground me.  She had a home business and if it was mailing time or inventory time or anything else time, my sisters and I had to watch it because one step out of line meant we got to do the task as punishment instead of getting paid for it.  So any kind of envelope stuffing, counting, folding, etc brings me back to my adolescent years when I did a lot of this.  Once my parents decided to buy all new doors for the house – inside and outside.  My Dad thought it would be a good idea to finish the new wooden doors for the inside by himself – the sanding, staining, and polyurethane.  Long story short, I finished quite a few of those doors, and not willingly, if you know what I mean.

I’m about to give exams and I just finished collating and stapling all of them in preparation for my 8am class in the morning.  I couldn’t shake the feeling the entire time I was working that I was being punished for something bad I had done.  Good job, Mom and Dad.  You scarred me for life.  ( just kidding )  Actually I had that same nagging feeling when I was spending hours by myself (well, me and Pandora) refinishing my room at home this winter (pictures here, where you can also see those doors).

Other than giving exams tomorrow, I’m going to be attempting a brave undertaking: dyeing Easter eggs with fifteen junior highers, none of whom speak English or Chinese natively.  I have a lot of leeway with the international students that I teach, so it’ll be fun to do something different with them and talk about Easter.  I’m focusing on how much fun it’s going to be and not on the potentially scary combination of eggs, dye, and prepubescent boys!

I’ve gotten into the habit of watching TV while grading, and in this week leading up to Easter I decided to go without TV.  It’s been refreshing and good.  Evangelicalism typically skips over Lent, and while my week without TV isn’t a full-out celebration of Lent, it’s similar in vein and spirit.  Are you celebrating Lent this year, or have you given up something around Easter in the past?  What was your experience, or what did you learn?

One Response

  1. […] egg dyeing Posted on April 8, 2010 by Julie As I mentioned last week, my international students spent a class dyeing Easter eggs.  Most of them had never done it […]

Leave a Reply

