• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Pompton Plains/Rt 23 flood

view from Rt 23 of the Pompton Plains/Wayne A&P

bye bye Beemer.

the Village area of Pompton Plains under water

I was 14 during the 1999 flood from Hurricane Floyd, and for some reason I thought it would be fun to ride my bike through water like that.  Granted, the Floyd flood wasn’t as deep as this one, but now I cringe just looking at these pictures because I know better what’s in that water and it just isn’t all river water, if you know what I mean.  So many friends and other people are affected by this terrible flooding.  I can’t help out from Beijing, but I’m sure a lot of help will be needed as people start to move back home and clean out their basements and first floors, so be thinking about them, and maybe also about ways you can help out.

3 Responses

  1. I walked in the river in that flood. It was fun. I had to get milk for my mom so my brother and I walked out through the street to get some. It went up right above my chest (the water). intense stuff!!

  2. […] The busiest day of the year was March 15th with 228 views. The most popular post that day was Pompton Plains/Rt 23 flood. […]

  3. Grew up in Wayne and road my bicycle through this parking lot many times while it was flooded! (Coincidentally, I was also in Beijing this summer and have several friends who teach English there! Great city!)

Leave a Reply

