• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Adios USA

Zai jian, USA!  I’m on a direct flight back to Beijing right now.  I’ll land in thirteen hours, returning just in time for the new school term to start on Tuesday.  In my last semester as a teacher I’m teaching 10th grade history, the international students, and an after-school elective in business management.

It’s hard to believe how an intial 10-month commitment slipped into life in Beijing for 36 months, and it seems like I arrived just yesterday.  But as I contemplate the close of this time, there’s one thing I just can’t make up my mind about.  (Warning: deviation from all things contemplative or reflective ahead)

  • The US has Pandora (inaccessible in the PRC).
  • China has Google music – completely free and legal MP3 downloads on which Google pays the royalties (inaccessible in the US).

In an ideal situation, Pandora would suggest music that I’ll like and then I could click over to Google music and let someone else pay for my music downloads.  But which one would I rather have?  I want to have my cake and eat it, too!

To all of you who have been reading and thinking over any part of the past three years – we’re all in this together* and have been entrusted with the call and the message in different ways.  Thanks for taking part in this Asian adventure with me as I finish up my time in Beijing and prepare to depart for the US in July.

*This was an entirely accidental reference to High School Musical, not that I have ever watched HSM or listened to the soundtrack.  And I have definitely never read Twilight.  Ever.

4 Responses

  1. But, Julie, your blog is inaccessible here in Beijing while you are back in the States…

    • True. How are you able to read it? 🙂

  2. I can only read it when you are back here!

    • Why is that?

Leave a Reply

