• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

New gadget

Can you call a hard drive a gadget?  I’ve been keeping my eye out for a solution to my hard drive problem, which is that it’s too small.  I have a Western Digital passport external hard drive that I got in the biggest size back in the day, which back then was 40GB.  Now that’s not enough space to back up just my music (thanks, free Google Music) and my pictures (I’ve been in eight countries in the past twelve months alone).  I’ve been living in secret fear that something would happen to my 2 1/2 years of lesson plans and Powerpoints mid-semester, so I decided it was time to do something about it.  My options were to get either an external drive or to upgrade my laptop to a bigger hard drive.  Since my laptop is 2 1/2 years old I couldn’t see spending money on that so I ruled that out quickly and started researching external drives on cnet.com, which led me to this:

Iomega eGo Portable Mac Edition

  • 500GB
  • USB 2.0
  • FireWire 400
  • FireWire 800
  • Backup software
  • Drop protection from 52″
  • 3-year warranty
  • Pre-formatted for the Mac

And hey, it’s pretty!  It doesn’t come with cables, but lucky for me I live down the street from the eMarket on Zhong Guan Cun, sometimes referred to as China’s Silicon Valley.  I’ll just pick some up there and save myself a more expensive trip to Radio Shack.  It should arrive just in time for my flight back to Beijing on Saturday.

One Response

  1. Julie,
    My husband recently got a Western Digital External Hard drive for his laptop and he, too, is very pleased. What a perfect solution!

Leave a Reply

