• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

The one where Aunt Kathy visits Beijing

Just a quick update tonight in between grading and hitting the hay.  My afternoon classes tomorrow were canceled at the last minute (or at least we just found out about it five minutes ago) in celebration of Teacher’s Day.  My aunt has been visiting since Friday and we’re hitting up pretty much everything there is to do in this city.  Here’s a recap for family:

Saturday: Houhai, Bell & Drum Towers, Beijing Opera

Sunday: Temple of Heaven (it was COLD and rainy but I still got a few okay pictures, more of those later)

Monday: the tour company made a scheduling mistake and forgot to pick Aunt Kathy up so it became a free day

Tuesday: with a tour company to see the pandas, Llama Temple, Olympic stadiums, Hutong tour, porcelain factory

Wednesday: shopping at Silk Alley

Thursday: Purple Bamboo Park

Friday: Tian’anmen Square & Forbidden City

Saturday: National Art Museum

Sunday: Summer Palace

Monday: old Ming city wall, acrobatic show

Tuesday: with a tour company to see the Ming Tombs, the Great Wall, a jade factory, and participate in a tea ceremony

Wednesday: depart for the U.S.

2 Responses

  1. Wow – you sure are packing everything in! Even the opera – I’m impressed!

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

