• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Countdown to the first day of school

We’re down to the last weekend before school starts! The first day of classes is on Tuesday and in true China fashion I don’t have my teaching schedule yet. We’ll probably receive them on Sunday or Monday.

We had an all-day teaching in-service today with school officials and the Chinese teachers of our classes. It’s mostly a formality where we show the school what we’ll be teaching for the year and they get to look through the books we’re going to use. There are also some teachers who give some presentations on what they think a good class looks like, as well as how to be a good teacher. The Chinese classroom is run vastly different from the American classroom, so it can be really amusing at times. I came prepared with my camera this morning and took some video of the funnier parts of the day. I hope to get those clips up on YouTube as soon as I can get it to work; even with the VPN I’m not able to get it to load this afternoon.

I was going to teach the Diary of Anne Frank in my literature class, but then I decided that there was too much mature content so we switched to The Witch of Blackbird Pond. I remember reading it when I was a kid and there’s a lot of history that Jen and I can teach alongside it. The History class hasn’t changed at all from last year. The two international classes remain an unknown factor and I have a feeling they might be planned on a week by week basis until I get a feel for what the students are like.

We’re headed down to Shi Yi tomorrow for a tour of their campus with the newbs, then to the newbs’ first China tourism experience at Tian’anmen Square. Some people will probably go to the Forbidden City also, but I’m sitting out this time since my aunt is coming to visit on Friday and we’ll visit then.

Leave a Reply

