• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Sabah el kheer… good morning from the Dubai airport

Hi friends!  I have a three hour layover in Dubai on my way to JFK so I thought I’d post a quick message in honor of being able to access my blog again now that I’m outside the Great Firewall of China.  And I can get to YouTube, and they have salads at McDonald’s, and those salads cost $5 (a bit expensive for a few pieces of iceberg lettuce and some chicken, but I just came from China ten hours ago… so I’m used to things being cheap), and everyone speaks English, and people are very well-dressed, and they apologize profusely if they bump into you or run you over, and they don’t stare.  Can you tell that I’m experiencing some culture shock already?  And I’m not even out of Asia yet!

Actually, my first clue that I wasn’t in China anymore was the marinated crab salad appetizers they served as soon as I boarded the plane.  The second was the sweet uniforms the flight attendants wear, followed by the Arabic music humming in the background.  I wish I could fly Emirates everytime I fly.  I was allowed to check two 30kg bags (~70 lbs), each seat has a personal entertainment system and and USB and a power source.  The plane wasn’t very full so I had a row of four seats to myself.  I don’t sleep very well on planes, but at least I had a lot of room to spread out and get comfortable.

It’s 6:37 in the United Arab Emirates and only 84 degrees.  Oh wait, it’s pretty early in the morning so I’m glad I’m escaping before temps hit 110 degrees.  I finished my $5 iceberg lettuce and now the Brit next to me is eating ketchup straight from the packet.  That’s my cue to go find my gate and get comfortable with a movie for the next few hours.  Talk to you soon from NJ!

Leave a Reply

