• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Leaving on a jet plane

Nanchong (Mary's hometown), Sichuan province, PRC

I am my mother’s daughter.  I’m preparing to leave tomorrow for Sichuan, a province in south central China, so what do I do?  Clean the house, of course!  My Mom always made us clean the house and make our beds before we left on vacation when I was a kid.  I hated it then, but now I do the same thing.

I will be in Chengdu and Nanchong with Joel, Mary, baby Jacob, and Anna through Sunday where we’ll be visiting with Mary’s parents, burning our taste buds on spicy food, and hiking a mountain.  Unfortunately for my students, they will be hard at work studying and taking their midterms all week.  See you next week with pictures!

Famous for its pandas, Sichuan province is also where the devastating earthquake struck last spring resulting in the loss of so many lives

2 Responses

  1. Yes, you are so much like me, aren’t you? 🙂 Cleaning is a pain before you leave for vacation, but it’s so nice to come home to a relatively clean house, no? I think it’s worth the effort…. Have a wonderful time with Mary and her family!

  2. Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll certainly be subscribing to your site.

Leave a Reply

