• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

香山植物园 or, tulips bring out the Dutch in me

Karisa and I capitalized on the continued nice weather and went to the Beijing Botanical Gardens this afternoon.  We splurged and took a taxi instead of the bus.  On the way there our taxi driver kept opening his door at the red lights.  What was he doing?  Cleaning out his car, of course.  Where did the papers, wrappers, and plastic bottles go?  On the street.  Beijing is so clean, so modern.

Karisa and I on the bridge

Karisa and I on the bridge

Chinese ladies playing cards

Chinese ladies playing cards

The Chinese waterwaterwater their plants

The Chinese waterwaterwater their plants. It wouldn't be uncommon to see a flowerbeds of annuals being watered with something akin to a fire hose.

Cool sculpture

Cool sculpture. The rocks fit together like puzzle pieces.

What a nice day for a message in the park?  Couples PDA-ing.

What a nice day for a massage in the park? Couples PDA-ing.

Tulip beds.  Note that my hair has grown long enough to not be confused for a boys cut anymore.

Tulip beds. Note that my hair has grown long enough to not be confused for a boy's cut anymore.

My only phobia is bees, so getting this close to one is quite a step for me  :)

My only phobia is bees, so getting this close to one is quite a step for me 🙂

Why just look at the flowers when you can buy fake ones to wear on your head?

Why just look at the flowers when you can buy fake ones to wear on your head?

Karisa and I went our separate directions from the Gardens, but I had a hard time finding a taxi so I didn’t take a illegal taxi back to school.  I might not have if I knew that the guy I was paying 30 yuan to was a maniac driver.  He wove in and out of traffic, drove on the wrong side of the road and in the bike lane, cut cars off, and accelerated toward stationary vehicles only to slam on his brakes two minutes later.  I was glad to get out of his car!

Leave a Reply

