• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

23 is old if you are 14

You know how your parents talk about stuff that was around before you were born… or how life was different before ___ was invented?  It makes them sound old.  8-tracks, I Dream Of Jeanie, life before the calculator… not stuff I can relate to.

Our discussion questions in class this afternoon were these:

  • What do you see as the pros and cons of technological progress?
  • Do you have any concerns that technology might actually be diminishing our quality of life?

My 8th graders stared blankly back at me.  They’re young enough that they couldn’t think of pretty much anything new that has been invented during their lifetime and haven’t experienced “technological progress.”  My generation remembers life before Windows, the internet, and cell phones but junior high students today were born after the internet and they all have their own phones!

Sometimes I think my parents are old but today I think I joined their ranks… at least in the eyes of those kids!

Leave a Reply

