• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Unacceptable, Apple

I’ve been having trouble with the speakers on my MacBook for several months now. It comes and goes, but the speakers don’t work and a red LED light shines from the headphone jack. System Preferences show that it’s set to “Digital Out” instead of “Internal Speakers.” Well yes, I know that, how do I fix it? My usual cure-all (restarting) doesn’t work.

I haven’t encountered the problem in maybe a month or so and started to forget about it until it happened again today. The last thing I like to do with my time is wait on hold for hours on end for tech support, so I turned to techy forums for some solutions. It seems like it’s a common problem with a strange solution: people say to stick something inside the headphone jack and wiggle it around until the speakers start playing again. Suggested items include paper clips, the rubber-ended tip of a bobby pin, a pin, a match. They were right, it works.

But if I shell out the cash for a piece of less-than-a-year-old expensive Apple technology, should I have to wiggle a foreign object around in my computer just to listen to some music? I say it’s an unacceptable fix and you’d better believe I’ll be cashing in on my “AppleCare Protection Plan.”

2 Responses

  1. […] in Technology at 6:00 pm by juliekirsten I’ve written here and here about the problems with my 2007 MacBook CrackBook, which I have affectionately dubbed the […]

  2. […] in Technology at 6:00 pm by Julie I’ve written here and here about the problems with my 2007 MacBook CrackBook, which I have affectionately dubbed the […]

Leave a Reply

