• About Julie

    NJ native without the accent or the big hair. Currently residing in Beijing. Teaching English. Absorbing all things China. Exploring SE Asia.

    Thanks for visiting!

    Feel free to drop me a message: juliekhull at gmail

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 15 other followers

  • Most Popular This Week

Of birthdays past

I cleaned out a drawer today that seemed to contain every card or note I’ve received during my time in China, including from Christmas, International Women’s Day (did you know there was such a thing?), Teacher’s Day, Thanksgiving, random notes from students, and of course, birthday cards.

When I turned 23 we went to an Indian restaurant and Anna asked my friends to write down some advice for me.  I then had to guess who said each thing.  I saved a few of them and they made me smile as I read through them and remembered, and I thought you might enjoy them, too.

  • If you caught something every time you went out on the lake, they wouldn’t call it fishin’.  They’d call it catching.

  • The best advice is this: Don’t take advice and don’t give advice.

  • Keep your friends close and your roommates closer.  They know your secrets.

  • Save water.  Drink beer.

  • “The only thing to do and good advice is to pass it on.  It is never any use to oneself.”  Oscar Wilde

  • Beware the jabbertalk, my son – the mouth that during class doth run. (?? I never figured this one out ??)
  • People will not remember what you do as well as they will remember the kind of person you are.

  • Don’t be afraid of getting older – you only feel old if you let yourself.

  • Don’t take any wood nickels.

  • Don’t worry too much about life, you’ll never get out alive.

  • What God hath forgotten, stuff with cotton.

  • Never lie, cheat, or drink.  But if you must lie, lie in the arms of the one you love.  If you must steal, steal away from bad company.  If you must cheat, cheat death.  And if you must drink, drink in the moments that take your breath away.

  • If you give a man a fish, you feed him for a day.
    If you teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime.
    But if you hit a man with a fish, he’ll shut up.

( Eight days left in China. )

3 Responses

  1. haha wow! quite some interesting advice.

  2. I think I have the answer to the one you didn’t understand:

    Beware the jabbertalk, my son – the mouth that during class doth run. (?? I never figured this one out ??)

    It is playing off the lines of the Lewis Carroll Poem “Jabberwocky” which say:

    “”Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
    The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!

    • That makes total sense now. That’s was Ben Mitchell’s contribution. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.